History

Wimbledon Common Preparatory School was founded in 1919 as a place of education for the sons of local gentry in the neighbourhood of Wimbledon Village and was a preparatory school for King's College School and other notable public schools.

The premises were in the basement and ground floor of 45 High Street and the Principal was Miss Whiting, 'young middle-aged, a sweet, charming lady', according to a distinguished former pupil.

The school moved site to Homefield Road but then in 1957, Wimbledon Common Preparatory School acquired a fine building on the Ridgway, opposite King's College School, which we occupy to this day. The school is exceptionally well situated in an attractive and spacious site in Wimbledon Village. It is set in a beautiful large playground and is surrounded by trees and has an adventure playground.

In June 2006 The Corporation of King's College School bought the school which consolidated our relationship with this prestigious educational institution.

Orchard Hall was completed in 2008 providing a teaching area for Music, Gymnastics and Drama. More recently our new all weather surface was laid in 2012 for use during break times and outdoor Physical Education lessons.